Fee-fi-fo- Flan!

I tasted and cooked my first Flan!

I prefer to call it Crème Caramel and pretend that I am not me, but a renowned French chef who for this moment made a very over cooked Flan.

It always looks so extravagant and rich and smooth. I wondered if it was only the desert of higher class. The ingredients made it seem oh so easy but no, the anticipation is the true killer. Waiting and wonder If the hour plus more that you spend waiting for it to cook and set will be worth it in the end.

I enjoyed the taste of the center portion which seemed to be the proper identity of what crème caramel should be.  The rest was eggy and mushy. So if you did not know before,  my photos have now taught you what over cooked flan/ crème caramel looks like. Well at least I think it was over cooked, I also did not have the right set up for a water bath.

Note well, Flan tastes like a jello textured cheese cake, at least to me anyway.

 

flan3

flan 1

HEY, It may not be the world’s pettiest Flan , but it’s mine and now I feel like Mademoiselle Quelque chose!

Anyway this was random, just trying to get back into the groove of writing down anything and everything.Hope you all enjoyed and have fun experimenting with life.

Book Thoughts: Flame in the Mist

Flame in the Mist (Flame in the Mist, #1)Flame in the Mist by Renee Ahdieh

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Yes, it was wonderful just as I knew it would be! I could smell the earth from the forest and feel the cool air every time I turned a page. I was pleasantly surprised at the twists this book took and I could not believe the giant question mark this book ended with. I enjoyed the character development although some things were left unknown which I hope to find in the second book. I fell in love with more people than one. However, I couldn’t help but feel like the main character was overly praised. She seemed to always rattle someone in more ways than one.

Yes, she was a very good and strong character but I felt that if she was in front of me I would first think that she was all talk. I was always waiting for her to back up all the bravado. In the end she did prove to be useful. I anticipate what choices she will make in the future.

The writing style Is beautiful as usual for this author. Poetic and well paced. I enjoyed being transported with the characters in their world and seeing what they saw.

*Fan girl moment*

From the moment I met Shazi and Khalid in the Wrath and the Dawn I had no hesitation coming into this book. OH HOW I MISS THEM. But trust me ladies the love interest in  Flame and the Mist is just as Mysterious and sizzling! Let your imagination go wild darlings! It was a wonderful journey that I would definitely recommend and hope that you all experience it too.

View all my reviews