Book Thoughts: The Heirs

the heirs.jpg

I rarely read the synopsis of a book so that I am sprung into a surprising world on my own. The first chapter dragged for me. I was not used to reading books like this one in a very long time.  I have only been reading YA madness for the past year. When I arrived at chapter two it was safe to say that I was definitely enjoying The Heirs by Susan Reiger. I was unable to rush this book. The pace was comfortable and not excruciatingly slow. I found myself taking time to read it but not feeling the need to rush.
This book reminded me of a classy gossip tale. We are literally experiencing every secret as it unfolds. The thing is that the more you know, the more you want to find out. We are shown the present and past of the characters which enables you to assess each person individually. I was guilty of judging them by their past forgetting my thoughts of who they were presently and I could imagine Eleanor chastising me for it
The stories and characters were beautifully written. Family life was the heaviest theme. From different perspectives we learned each person’s personality both the good and the bad. We saw how they each reacted to the secrets that were being revealed not just about their deceased father, but among themselves.
This book raises many interesting questions on love in marriage, it’s importance, it’s presence or lack there of and the ability of a marriage to either survive or fail on the simple assumption of love’s existence.  To me the subject of marriage in this book was bitter and apologetically realistic. However, Eleanor and Rupert never let the question of love stop them from having what appeared to have been a successful marriage.I enjoyed the reminder that the past should not rewrite the present.
Eleanor was  my favorite. Her mysterious air seemed to bind everything and everyone together. She was sophisticated and classy and witty in handling situations and we learned about her naughty side as well! I enjoyed how the author was able to connect everything together in the end.  Although I do not ever think that I would be able to keep up at a dinner with the Falkes.
 All in all it was a very interesting read hard to get into on the first chapter but i was in for the ride by the second. It was a good break from my usual YA  and a wonderful opportunity to learn new vocabulary!

I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review. So exciting!

Author Website:http://susanregier.com/

