You Can Create Opportunities|| I have Proof

One day I was at a park in my Island’s Capitol. It was a busy day and the sun was hot (as usual in the Caribbean) This year’s independence they had dolled the city up a bit, and I noticed that they had painted along the harbor with the flag. For weeks after, I told my boyfriend how much I wish I could take a photo there so that years later when I am old I would go back and take another photo there.It was also just the perfect photo spot with the cruise ships in the background.He responded, “why not?” I would make excuses , “nahhh, too many people” or “The sun is way too hot” . The feeling nagged at me for weeks though. I felt like I had to take a photo there because I wanted to so much. So one day in the hot sun and a busy day, He again told me hey we are going to take that picture. I was nervous and scared and even though no one was looking at me (or maybe they were) I got up onto that platform and took this picture;

benica onflag thing

That same night I posted it on social media as normal in our time. I felt great and happy literally following the quote of doing something that scares you everyday. I treasure this picture a lot and hope to print it soon( Album lovers)

There is something about doing something for yourself and kicking fear’s butt that leaves some kinda hormone lingering in you for quite a while. ANYWAY that same night I got a message on fb………

Now this person had never spoken to me before so I was like nah this person wants something. I was right of course. He was my age,  in the creative industry or rather doing things to open opportunities in that industry. He wanted me to advertise a T-shirt he had made by taking a photo in that spot. He couldn’t even pay me or anything but I did get a free t-shirt which I do count as something.

 

I Was a Model For A Day

13035483_10208277303263644_754395265_o.jpg

I think you get my point by now. This was not the grandest thing but it could have been. Any one thing you do opens one door out there in opportunity land. The scarier it is might be the bigger the door, in the long term( or short term) or sometimes the smaller depending on if it was a good choice or not. It could have been an added acquaintance, a big billboard advertisement (I Wish) or just a photo for an aspiring artist. I am no expert however this was just another added evidence for me, a gentle reminder that if I want things to happen in my life, I would need to step up and DO SOMETHING because I am the only one with the keys to open my very stylish doors of opportunity.

 

5 Replies to “You Can Create Opportunities|| I have Proof”

  1. Let me just say Wow, inspiring post, Its not every day oppurtunity opens its doors that quickly. I tend to have an issue ” creating my own opportunities “,my excuses would be lingering negative thoughts that would discourage me from time to time. I needed to read this today and I’m sure you’ll get your grand opportunities I hope you share it with us.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much Tevin! Am glad you enjoyed the post. I have also experienced negative thoughts. When I decided to take the picture I wondered what was I afraid of in the first place. Sometimes its really not as bad as fear makes it seem. Good luck and come back again:)

      Like

Leave a Reply

