Poisonous Thoughts of Envy

Proverbs 14:30New International Version (NIV)

30 A heart at peace gives life to the body,
    but envy rots the bones.

Recently I have been feeling a bit of envy at different people. Look what this one has that I don’t etc. I was surprised at one point wondering why do I feel so bitter? So negative?Why though? It was such a waste of time, allowing my thoughts to focus on someone’s life so much, that I could barely enjoy my own God given days?I am healthy and intelligent. My family has so much more than we should have considering our bank accounts. We are fortunate and blessed. How dare me. It’s as if the moment you trip and lose your footing for a few minutes and you let that one thought grow. It  wants to grow an entire forest of jealousy in your heart. That’s when we need to stop and look around at our own life where it matters. It’s also where I know that I have been slacking spiritually and I let that tiny crack within me be open and vulnerable. I am blessed. I am very blessed.

Leave a Reply

