Starter Locs: 5 months Update

My hair ,to me, is finally starting to actually look like locs. I got a question yesterday, a guy in my class asked ,what would possess me to do such a thing? I didn’t like the way he phrased the question, it already suggested his opinion behind the question. At that moment someone interrupted us sparing me the chance of responding. Sometimes I forget the reason why I started.Having starter locs has made me almost forget about my hair at some instances having so many other changes happening in my life. Sometimes I simply remember always wanting to have locs and then I also remember the fear of growing old and wishing that I had at least tried it. My biggest fear of growing up is regretting not doing those things I wanted to do. Even at 20 I can see those opportunities I missed during my teens, living in my shell comforted by my fears. My parents hate locs and many of my friends don’t even like it. The idea really is living for God and making choices for Me. Having Locs would not change one aspect of the life of some else. One Goal of my twenties is to worry less of what others think of me and focus on developing myself and becoming who I hope to be.

I never expected to reach this far in the journey. I had started Locs almost twice before and always got shunned down by negative opinions of friends and family. This time I didn’t even mention I was starting. I added some twists and simply left them in. I didn’t even tell myself that  this would be my Loc journey. No matter what happens whether I stop or continue or change up the style, I am happy and refreshed that this makes me feel like I am living life not for my mom , dad or friends, but me.

3 Replies to “Starter Locs: 5 months Update”

  1. I rolled my eyes when I saw the question that guy asked you. Why..oh why is it any of his business and why do so many people have a problem with those of us who choose to wear our hair in its natural state? You do not need an explanation to anyone because it is your hair to do what you please.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

